With Pancake Tuesday just past, I was looking for high protein pancakes recipes and stumbled upon the MyProtein Pancakes Cookies and Cream mix. I took a notion to try out as I hadn’t tried high protein low carb pancakes before. In this MyProtein high protein low carb pancakes review, you’ll find out if they made the cut!

I personally love pancakes and I often make high protein pancakes. But since the mix comes with pretty much everything included and in a range of flavours I had never tried, I thought I’d give it a go. Without spoiling the review, let me just say that for anyone looking for good pre-workout foods or a list of high protein breakfast foods, look no further!

Product: MyProtein Pancakes Cookies and Cream

Available to buy: Amazon

My rating: 9.5/10

Myprotein pancake mix, cookies and cream, protein

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Product Description

The product comes in a variety of flavours including:

The high protein blueberry pancakes sound divine, so I’ll probably try these next!

These high protein low carb pancakes also comes in a range of sizes, so depending on whether you’re an avid pancake consumer (like myself), or just looking to try a new flavour, you can opt for 3 sizes:

  • 200g (4 servings)
  • 500g (10 servings)
  • 1000g (20 servings)

It comes with a decent best before date too, approximately 12 months + depending on the batch and time you buy. The packaging itself is a resealable bag and it comes with a scoop for convenient weighting of ingredients.

When making the pancakes, I actually make double portions. The reason for this is that I save half of the pancakes for later; this reduces the time spent cooking and cleaning. Fortunately, they microwave relatively well too! I generally add a carbohydrate-based food alongside the pancakes to ensure I’ve a well-rounded meal.

One of my favourite things about this mix (and when it comes to food preparation in general) is the limited amount of ingredients required. With these, all you need to add is milk or water, and grab some oil or cooking spray for the pan and you’re sorted!

Nutritional Information

The nutritional composition of these pancakes really can’t be faulted. It’s low in fat, sugar and high in protein, making in a great all-rounder. People looking for a good post workout food may consider the carbohydrate quantity low, but there’s nothing stopping you adding in some oats to the mixture or having a side of your favourite carbohydrates with the pancakes!

The ingredients contains a mixture of fast and slow-digesting protein (milk, whey and egg protein), making it a great after workout food. The protein content also helps ensure that you’ll feel full for longer and the low sugar content will help prevent those unwelcome sugar crashes.

The below nutritional value is based on the unflavoured version. I compared this with the Cookies and Cream nutritional value and there are some notable variations in terms of calories, protein and salt content amongst the flavours.

Unflavoured:

Per 100g Per Serving *RI
Energy 1571 kJ/372 kcal 786 kJ/186 kcal 9%
Fat 6.3 g 3.2 g 5%
of which saturates 2.4 g 1.2 g 6%
Carbohydrates 11 g 5.6 g 2%
of which sugars 3.3 g 1.7 g 2%
Protein 67 g 34 g 68%
Salt 2.3 g 1.2 g 20%

Cookies and Cream:

Per 100g Per Serving
Energy 1343 kJ/320 kcal 671 kJ/160 kcal
Fat 3.2 g 1.6 g
of which saturates 1.7 g 0.8 g
Carbohydrates 10.6 g 5.3 g
of which sugars 3.8 g 1.9 g
Protein 61 g 31 g
Salt 0.20 g 0.01 g

* Reference intake of an average adult (8400 kJ/2000 kcal)

Protein pancakes, batter, pancake Tuesday, low carb breakfast

Pros

High Protein: This pancake mix has an exceptionally high protein content (67g per 100g serving); for those looking for a high protein breakfast for kids and adults, this meal certainly ticks the box! I often use it as an after workout food. It’s also an excellent option for those on a lean muscle building diet or those looking to increase their overall protein intake.

Low carb pancakes: These might be suitable for people on keto diets looking for low carb breakfast suggestions. These MyProtein pancake mixes are also low in sugar, which is always an added bonus.

The batter tastes unreal: I’m sure I’m not the only person who loves to eat the leftover batter! The cookies and cream flavour comes with little biscuit crumbs throughout the mixture which also adds to the texture.

MyProtein Pancake Batter, cookies and cream, protein

Great variety of flavours: Thankfully, we’re not isolated to just 1 or 2 flavours, we have a whopping 8 flavours to try (well 7 if you ignore the unflavoured version), so the odds of getting bored of the flavour are slim.

Cons

Shape: It can be a little tricky to make them thick, but if you enjoy thin pancakes or have a pancake shaper (I love my pancake shaper, and I bet kids do too), then this shouldn’t be a problem for you.

Texture: When researching the reviews on this product, some people complained of a rubber texture to the pancakes. I only experienced this once when I overcooked them, but ever since I’ve been more cautious and only slightly brown them to ensure the texture is perfect. Bear in mind that since these are not your normal concoction of ingredients, you shouldn’t expect the exact same pancake experience as ones made from sugar and flour.

Price

For such a high quality protein mix, you really are getting value for money. Take the 1kg bag of cookies and cream pancake mix, that works out to be €1.16c per serving, which is a bargain. The price is rather competitive when compared with other brands of protein pancake mix. In addition, when compared with whey protein, the price difference is marginal; in fact, you might even spare a few €/£/$! Depending on the flavour you buy, some of the products may be cheaper than others, e.g. unflavoured is cheaper than cookies and cream. I found this Amazon deal which give you free delivery too! There may also be discounts on the MyProtein website.

Conclusion

  • One of the highest protein foods available
  • Excellent low calorie high protein breakfast suitable for people trying to build lean muscle or lose weight
  • An excellent before or after workout protein snack or meal
  • Great alternative to normal pancakes high in sugar/fat/calories
  • Easy to make and requires minimal effort and additional ingredients
  • May have a rubbery-texture depending on how you cook them and your personal preference

Sources

Myprotein Ireland. (2020). Protein Pancake Mix. [online] Available at: https://www.myprotein.ie/sports-nutrition/protein-pancake-mix/10867261.html [Accessed 29 Feb. 2020].

Categories: BlogsReviews

24 Comments

  • Angee · 03/03/2020 at 5:43 AM

    I would really love to try these they do look delicious. I also like how you are open about the pros and the cons so we know what to expect. The price seems reasonable to me. My only question is are they gluten free? Thanks for this.

      Sharon · 03/03/2020 at 8:12 PM

      Hello,

      Yes I’d be eager to hear your opinion on them! You’ll be glad to know that they are gluten-free.

      Thanks,
      Sharon

    Lisa · 03/03/2020 at 8:10 PM

    Hi Sharon, thanks for the detailed review I love pancakes but would never have considered them as a post workout food!

    I do sometimes make pancakes with Huel instead of a flour mix to attempt to make them a bit healthier, but I can never get as much protein in the Huel ones as I would like, so the MyProtein pancake mix sounds like an ideal solution.

    I am a bit sensitive to some sweeteners that are often found in protein powders and low carb foods. Is there detailed ingredient list available where I could check if they use Sucralose?

    Thanks again for your review!
    Cheers,
    Lisa

    Stephanie · 04/03/2020 at 7:19 PM

    These look so yummy! My kids are pretty harsh pancake critics, if they are not perfect pancake shape, they won’t eat them, lol. I didn’t even know you could buy a pancake shaper! I will definitely be getting one. Thanks for sharing this recipe and all the benefits. It’s so nice that we can eat healthily and still have our favourites.

      Sharon · 04/03/2020 at 7:30 PM

      Hi there,

      The pancake shapers make food so much more fun, and the shapes they come in are so broad that you’d never get bored. I left a link for good pancake shapers in the article if you are interested, they’re relatively cheap too.

      Glad to be of assistance,
      Sharon

    Jukka · 04/03/2020 at 7:54 PM

    I’ve been thinking about trying these protein pancakes. I love pancakes just like you but I know the macronutrients aren’t always that great. Well, I allow my self to eat real pancakes after a two-hour Olympic weight lifting session but that only once per month at most. I actually use mostly protein supplements from MyProtein because they have really good quality vegan options as I’m trying to minimize my animal-based protein consumption. That said I’m not strict and a treat every here and there is fine. One thing I did notice is that these seem to be available as artificially flavored and unflavoured. Have you tried both? Most of the flavoured stuff contains artificial sweeteners that taste horrible and are actually toxic to your gut bacteria according to the latest research.

      Sharon · 04/03/2020 at 8:02 PM

      If memory serves me right, I think MyProtein have a vegan pancake mix too, if that’s something you’re interested in. It’s certainly becoming a growing area as people become more conscious of where their food originates from. I have only tried the Cookies and Cream mix, so I can’t comment on the flavour. What I would imagine is that (for me at least), having a flavour wouldn’t matter so much as people typically apply various toppings. If you do try the unflavoured version, I’d be keen to hear your opinion!

      Sharon

    Kathy · 04/03/2020 at 11:10 PM

    I love pancakes, and the cookie and cream mix sounds wonderful. I also love the other flavours you’ve listed as I have a very sweet tooth! The price is very economical for the quantity, and would last me a very long time! It’s also great that these pancake mixes can be used post workout.

      Sharon · 05/03/2020 at 7:43 PM

      I agree with you there. Plus you don’t have to feel any guilt by eating these easier. I love eating them post-workout, it feels like a little treat as well after the hard workout.

      Sharon

    Lee Goupil · 06/03/2020 at 5:56 PM

    This is great, protein pancakes seem to be really gaining in popularity. There are several options now at my grocer, where before they were a little hard to find. I used to just make my own with whole wheat pancake mix and I’d add protein powder.

    The only thing that concerns me is the texture you spoke about.
    I found a brand that I buy now that my kid loves. I tried some others and have made my own for him and he was not to crazy about them.
    This might be a hard answer for you to quantify but would you say MyProtein pancake mix is “kid friendly”?

      Sharon · 06/03/2020 at 8:33 PM

      They certainly are, although I still personally have to go online to source it. Yes, texture and even flavour often vary hugely amongst different brands. From what I’ve read, there are no disclaimers/warnings regarding the MyProtein mix and consumption in children.

      Hope this helps,
      Sharon

    Manuela Thames · 06/03/2020 at 6:52 PM

    The funny thing is that I was just looking at different stores for a high protein pancake mix. My kids love pancakes, but I always try to make a healthy variety and something that will actually fill them up instead of making them feel lethargic. I am definitely going to check this one out!

      Sharon · 06/03/2020 at 8:30 PM

      Just as well I posted it at the time I did so! I’d love to hear your opinion on it!

      Sharon

    Bob · 06/03/2020 at 8:53 PM

    I’ve always eaten pancakes at restaurants and thought of them as very high in calories and carbohydrates. Your post now gives me a great reason to eat them again as I’ve been weight lifting and need the protein. Thanks for letting me know about this highly nutritious food.

      Sharon · 07/03/2020 at 10:55 AM

      Hi Bob,

      Yes, the calorie count of pancakes in restaurants (in fact, any food in a restaurant) can be astronomical! Glad the post was of benefit to you.

      Sharon

    Vincent · 06/03/2020 at 10:41 PM

    Hello! Thank you for this review and great information! I love pancakes, but do not make them much anymore due to the high carb and calorie count. To know there’s an alternative out there like this is great! 8 flavors too, wow! What is your favorite? Thanks again for this great post.

      Sharon · 07/03/2020 at 10:59 AM

      Hi there,

      I’ve only tried cookies and cream so far, so that has to be my favourite by default. Whenever I try a new flavour, that might change.

      Thanks for your kind words on the post!
      Sharon

    sinadsk · 06/03/2020 at 11:01 PM

    Hi Sharon,

    Love your website and the reviews for low carb anything are welcome. You really went into detail on the ingredients. If I was a pancake lover, I’d want to try these pancakes.

      Sharon · 07/03/2020 at 11:01 AM

      Hi there,

      Thank you so much, that means a lot! Maybe we’ll convert you into a pancake person yet!

      Sharon

    Ric · 07/03/2020 at 1:24 AM

    Well I love pancakes and eating healthy so then I love this post! These look delicious and the nutritional values are good as well. I don’t like to reheat pancakes in a microwave because they get rubbery so I was wondering have you ever tried reheating them in an air fryer? Not sure if that would work but you have inspired me to give it a try. Have you tried the blueberry mix yet? Does it have actual berries in it or just a flavoring? Also thanks for the tip on pancake shapers. I have never used them but I will definitely give them a try.

      Sharon · 07/03/2020 at 11:05 AM

      Hi Ric,

      You and I have something in common so! No I don’t actually own an air fryer. I have thought about toasting them so I might try that one day! I plan on buying the blueberry mix once I finish the cookies and cream mix, I hear it’s one of the nicest flavours available.

      Sharon

    Kevin · 07/03/2020 at 7:14 AM

    I’ve been on a keto diet recently and I have been having a tough time looking for delicious keto food, I might consider buying one in the future to add into my keto food arsenal. Thank you Sharon

      Sharon · 07/03/2020 at 11:06 AM

      Hi Kevin,

      Yes, I’d highly recommend you do that; sometimes it gets difficult to find new foods to try that fit in with your meal requirements and the fear then is of getting sick of the foods or getting stuck in a rut!

      Best wishes,
      Sharon

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *